Lentil Hummus

Image

By now you know that I love HUMMUS. I try and make my own and keep in the fridge for snacking on. I usually make the chick pea/ garbanzo version. But last week, I was tempted into making a lentil version that I found in the March 2012, Martha Stewart Living magazine. The recipe called for cashew butter, but I still had some Tahini from my last batch of hummus. Some Advice. Don’t be afraid to substitute. The hummus came out great.

Image

Image

Ingredients

  • 3 cups brown lentils
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Tahini ( all natural creamy purée  of sesame seeds)
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic crushed
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper ground
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Parsley to garnish

Image

 

Method

  1. Cook lentils per instruction in packet. Let cool.
  2. Don’t forget to drain off excess water, otherwise your hummus comes out very thin and watery.
  3. In a blender, blend all ingredients, except parsley until smooth. When done, the hummus should be a thick consistency.
  4. To serve, transfer to a bowl, add tablespoon oil, dash of cayenne and parsley to garnish.
  5. Delicious with pita bread pieces, crackers or chips.

Image

Enjoy!

Image

Image

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scrumpliciousfood.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/lentil-hummus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment