Broccoli Salad… Delicious Greens!

Inspired by the broccoli salad I had at Louie’s Restaurant, I decided to make my own version in my very own kitchen.

Since, I have never made this salad, I went online and looked around. I found this very delicious looking salad from Simply Recipes.

It was a great salad and seemed easy to make and it was. I even learned about the very important step called blanching. Yeah!

I liked the recipe, but did not feel like adding the peas and bacon.  So, I did what I do best. I used the recipe as a base and went along and created my own. I substituted slivered almonds with sunflower seeds and mayonnaise with olive oil.

  • 4 cups fresh broccoli florets and stems, chopped  ( I used one stem of broccoli)
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Some ice cubes and water
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 Tbsp onion chopped
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Dressing

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup honey

  1. In a medium sized pot, boil water with salt. Add broccoli florets and stems. Boil for two minutes tops. (No more than two minutes to prevent over cooking). Drain. You will notice the Broccoli turn into a beautiful bright green. The broccoli on the right actually looks more palatable than the raw broccoli on the left.
  2. Place drained broccoli in bowl of ice water to cool. ( blanching)  Drain. Chop the Broccoli.
  3. Meanwhile in a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, vinegar and honey for dressing.
  4. In bigger bowl,  mix the cooled, chopped broccoli, sunflower seeds, onion, raisins and dressing. Toss the salad and let sit in refrigerator about one hour before serving.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://scrumpliciousfood.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/broccoli-salad-delicious-greens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] used my Broccoli salad recipe as a guide. Then I took a 1/2 package of frozen peas, zapped them in the microwave for 1 min to […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

